Architects of Little Rock


Charles Witsell and Gordon G. Wittenberg
978-1-55728-662-8 (paper)
May 2014


Add to Cart

Architects of Little Rock provides biographical and historical sketches of the architects at work in Little Rock from 1833 to 1950. Thirty-five architects are profiled, including George R. Mann, Thomas Harding, Charles L. Thompson, Max. F. Mayer, Edwin B. Cromwell, George H. Wittenberg, Lawson L. Delony, and others. Readers will learn who these influential professionals were, where they came from, where they were educated, how they lived, what their families were like, how they participated in the life of the city, and what their buildings contributed to the city. Famous buildings, including the Historic Arkansas Museum, the Old State House, the Arkansas State Capitol, St. Andrews Cathedral, Little Rock City Hall, the Pulaski County Court House, Little Rock Central High School, and Robinson Auditorium, are showcased, bringing attention to and encouraging appreciation of the city’s historic buildings.

Winner of the 2014 Ned Shank Award for Outstanding Publication from the Historic Preservation Alliance of Arkansas.

Fay Jones Collaborative Series

Witsell Sample Page Witsell Sample Page

Witsell Sample Page Witsell Sample Page

PDF of Pages 42-43

PDF of Pages 56-57