All before Them


Student Opportunities and Nationally Competitive Fellowships
Edited by Suzanne McCray and Doug Cutchins
150 pages
6″ x 9″
978-1-55728-685-7 (paper)
August 2015


Add to Cart


Advisors face quite a challenge as they sort through the daunting and ever-changing world of nationally competitive undergraduate and graduate fellowships in order to assist talented students searching for funding for exceptional academic opportunities.

This collection of essays helps advisors by providing information about major changes in the fellowship and scholarship landscape. Included is guidance on the new Schwarzman scholarship for study in China, the recently added video interview for the Mitchell scholarship, and the new rules for the Rhodes personal statement (an advisor’s take). Additionally, seasoned advisors share practical advice, ranging from workshops that engage students and faculty to helpful technological tools to personal statements and office assessments. Keeping the focus on the scholar in the scholarship process is a central theme. All before Them is an important addition to any faculty mentor’s or scholarship advisor’s toolkit.

Contributors include Robert Garris, Global Director of Admissions of the Schwarzman Scholars; Serena Williams, Director of the Mitchell Scholarship; Tara Yglesias, Deputy Executive Secretary of Truman Foundation; Doug Cutchins, immediate past president of the National Association of Fellowships Advisors; and other fellowships advisors from across the country.

Doug Cutchins is the director of global awards at New York University, Abu Dhabi. He served as the National Association of Fellowships Advisors (NAFA) vice president (2009–2011) and president (2011–2013) and has also served as a scholarship application reviewer for various foundations. He co-authored four editions of the book Volunteer Vacations: Short Term Adventures That Will Benefit You and Others.

Suzanne McCray is vice provost for enrollment and associate professor of higher education at the University of Arkansas and also directs the Office of Nationally Competitive Awards. She has reviewed applications for several national scholarship programs and has served as the vice president (2001–2003) and president (2003–2005) of NAFA. She has edited five volumes of the NAFA proceedings (All In: Expanding Access through Nationally Competitive Awards; Beyond Winning: National Scholarship Competitions and the Student Experience; and Nationally Competitive Scholarships: Serving Students and the Public Good; Leading the Way: Student Engagement and Nationally Competitive Awards) and was the co-chair of the ethics committee that created the NAFA code of ethics.

You may also like…